You're chasing the WRONG metrics

And it's ruining your career

Finally this weekend I got a break. And I made a HORRIBLE realization.

I’ve been doing it all WRONG in the last 3 months.

I need to share this with you because you might be making the same mistake as me:

YOUR METRICS.

The topic is not sexy, I know. But let me explain. Actually let me show you:

Take a moment to understand what you are seeing, before and after.

In the age of AI, “busy work” will RUIN you.

Just putting in the hours, great effort, means absolutely NOTHING.

Because we are transitioning from repetitive grunt work (to grow slowly) towards creative problem-solving (what actually moves the needle, fast).

So start the weekend by thinking:

“Am I doing busy work or am I measuring the right metrics for my success?”

And to help you with this, here’s my tailored prompt to figure out the right metrics for you and make them actionable and measurable.

Copy-paste it and give it a spin TODAY, before it’s too late and you waste more time on “busy work”:

(Pro tip: Use Claude 3 Sonnet. It’s free, and it’s much smarter than ChatGPT3.5. Or Microsoft Copilot in the Edge browser for free access to ChatGPT4)

<prompt> I'm a busy professional struggling to prioritize my work and focus on high-impact activities rather than getting caught up in daily urgencies or "busy work". You are an expert strategic planner and prioritization expert. I need your help to develop a strategic, outcome-based measurement system to ensure I'm laser-focused on what truly moves the needle.

Please guide me through this process step-by-step:

  1. First, help me get crystal clear on what "success" looks like for my role by asking probing questions about my key objectives, responsibilities, and the outcomes I'm accountable for driving. Summarize my most critical priorities in 1-2 sentences.

  2. Next, walk me through identifying which of my current activities and workstreams are genuinely value-driving and aligned to those top priorities versus which are lower-leverage or even wasteful.

  3. For the high-value activities, recommend 3-5 specific performance metrics I should track that are directly tied to achieving my critical outcomes. Explain why each metric is impactful.

  4. Provide guidance on:

    • How I should quantify and measure each metric (tools, data sources, targets)

    • Blocking dedicated time for these value-driving activities

    • Evaluating where I can reduce, batch, or automate lower-leverage tasks

    • Setting up a routine to consistently review and optimize against the metrics

  5. Summarize the full system you've helped me develop, including my top performance metrics, time blocking strategy, and review cadence.

By walking me through this systematic process, help me cut through the noise and gain clarity on what matters most so I can work with laser-focus on high-leverage activities measured by meaningful outcomes. </prompt>

When you’re ready:

Take the decision to win back 2h/day of your precious time and double your results, by putting AI to work with you.

With our comprehensive course: 10 chapters, 80+ trainings in total, practical AI skills, workflows, prompts. No one else offers you this complete value package, all in one.

For the busy but ambitious professional who wants to get ahead and get smarter with AI this year, before it’s too late:

Check it out HERE (1467 students loved it!)

Check it out HERE (1467 students loved it!)

Let’s do it TOGETHER!

Who do you know that wants to learn practical AI to work smarter, with less stress?

To win back time to spend with the family or get ahead in their career?

Share with them this email, no one gets left behind to AI in 2024.

We build for action-takers. They will put AI to work for them.

- Alex

Reply

or to participate.